Somerset Confirms Vernon Philander Signing as Kolpak

Somerset Confirms Vernon Philander Signing as Kolpak

Another one down for South Africa as one of their premier fast bowlers Vernon Philander announces his retirement from International Cricket and ongoing series against England will be his last for South Africa.

As speculation galore since he announces his retirement and it is confirmed now that he has signed a deal with English County Somerset for next year’s county season.

Vernon Philander is one of the mainstays of South African bowling department since he made his debut for South Africa back in 2011. 34 year old Philander has represented South Africa in 60 test matches before start of the current series and has captured 216 test wickets for South Africa in whites with an outstanding bowling average of 22.16 runs per wicket and bowling strike rate of under 50 balls per wicket.

Not permanent fixture in One Day Internationals for South Africa and played only 30 ODI’s over span of 12 years with last one in 2015. He took 41 ODI wickets at an average of under 25 and economy rate of 4.62 runs per over which is outstanding in modern days fast paced cricket.

Philander’s career has been hampered by injuries but he continues to return stronger every time.

South Africa is the most affected team by Kolpak as many of his talented players in past decade or so had withdrawn their services from South Africa and signed lucrative deals with various English counties so that they can get better financial returns and have secure future for them and their families by attaining financial gains.

Since 2004 as many as 45 South African domestic and international cricketers have signed Kolpak deals with English counties.

Some young players Rille Rossow, Kyle Abbott, Merchant de Lange and Duanne Oliver turned their back to South Africa at young age and opt to play for counties as local players whereas few players experienced ones from domestic circuit and test level who think that they do not have future in South African cricket opted for Kolpak route.

What is Kolpak Deal??? If a player signs Kolpak deal than he / she give up rights to represent his country. And Kolpak players may become eligible to play for England after 4 years of qualification period.

Below is the complete year wise list of South African players who signed Kolpak deals with English counties:

S.# Year of Kolpak Deal Name of Player
1 2004 Claude Henderson
2 2004 Greg Smith
3 2005 Riki Wessels
4 2005 Charl Willoughby
5 2005 Martin van Jaarsveld
6 2005 Zander de Bruyn
7 2006 Lance Klusener
8 2006 Paul Harris
9 2007 Faf du Plessis
10 2007 Garnett Kruger
11 2007 Jacques Rudolph
12 2007 Ryan McLaren
13 2007 Tyron Henderson
14 2008 Alfonso Thomas
15 2008 Andrew Hall
16 2008 Charl Langeveldt
17 2008 Dillon du Preez
18 2008 Dominic Telo
19 2008 Friedel de Wet
20 2008 Johan van der Wath
21 2008 Justin Kemp
22 2008 Nantie Hayward
23 2008 Nicky Boje
24 2008 Shaun Pollock
25 2009 André Nel
26 2010 Neil McKenzie
27 2011 Johann Myburgh
28 2012 Gareth Roderick
29 2013 Ashwell Prince
30 2014 Colin Ingram
31 2015 Alviro Petersen
32 2015 Richard Levi
33 2016 Hardus Viljoen
34 2016 Simon Harmer
35 2016 Stiaan van Zyl
36 2017 David Wiese
37 2017 Daryn Smit
38 2017 Kyle Abbott
39 2017 Rilee Rossouw
40 2017 Marchant de Lange
41 2018 Heino Kuhn
42 2018 Morné Morkel
43 2018 Wayne Parnell
44 2019 Duanne Olivier
45 2018 Blessing Muzarabani

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

error: Content is protected !!