England Test Squad for Sri Lanka Test Series

England Test squad announced for tour of Sri Lanka scheduled later next month. England has recalled wicket keeper batsman Ben Foakes and Opening Batsman Keaton Jennings after layoff of 12 months from international cricket.

Ben Foakes recalled for Tour of Sri Lanka
Ben Foakes recalled for Tour of Sri Lanka

Ben Foakes who made his debut against Sri Lanka two years ago and secured the headlines by scoring century on test debut and also impressed with his glove work but surprisingly not able to hold his place in England side. He is considered as one of the finest glove man in country at the moment.

Jos Buttler gets another chance to show his limited over exploits in test cricket which he was unable to do so far and his position in England test batting line up is under scrutiny.

Wicket Keeper batsman Jonny Bairstow has been rested from the team who toured South Africa recently. Another Notable exclusion is off Fast bowler Jofra Archer who still not able to regain the full fitness and sat out during most part of the tour of South Africa. Opener Rory Burns was not able to stick to his place in test side is now sidelined.

Fast bowler James Anderson also not been picked by ECB selection committee as he is still continuing his rehabilitation process after sustaining an injury during 1st test of England tour of South Africa recently.

All-rounder Moen Ali is still unavailable for the selection as he has opted to take rest from international cricket’s longest format.

Jack Leach who was integral part of English spin attack before his illness is ready to take his role as England senior spinner in the side and he will be having services of Dominic Bess who impressed with his bowling on South Africa tour and Matthew Parkinson. England have jot together spin bowling attack keeping in mind the spin friendly tracks in Sri Lanka.

First of the two test match series will start on March 19 and followed by second test match on 27th March, 2020. Both test matches will take place in Galle and Colombo respectively.

England Test Squad for Tour of Sri Lanka:

Joe Root (captain), Dominic Bess, Stuart Broad, Jos Buttler, Zak Crawley, Sam Curran, Joe Denly, Ben Foakes, Keaton Jennings, Jack Leach, Matthew Parkinson, Ollie Pope, Dominic Sibley, Ben Stokes, Chris Woakes, Mark Wood

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

error: Content is protected !!